10 Foods you think are Vegan but might not be


10 Foods you think are Vegan but might not be

Mono and diglycerides: these are types of fats used as emulsifiers to improve texture in the bread and retain moisture. They are often derived from soybean oil but can also be sourced from animal fat.

Lecithin: Another emulsifier usually derived from soybeans but it can also come from egg yolks. Unless the bread is certified vegan there is a chance it may not be if it contains any of these 3 ingredients, so if you are unsure then its best to avoid bread containing these ingredients.

Other ingredients to watch out for include eggs, honey, royal jelly, gelatin, buttermilk, whey or casein (and of course milk, butter or eggs).

Some beers contain isinglass, gelatin, glycerin or casein which are all animal derived products. The good news is the following beers are animal free: Budweiser and Bud Light, Coors and Coors light, Guinness is vegan since 2018. For a more comprehensive list check out PETA: https://www.peta.org/about-peta/faq/which-beers-are-suitable-for-vegans/

Kiernan Shipka shares hilarious provegan text sent by her mom

Stop fighting over Oreos — eat these instead